Skip to main content

Official Journal of the Asia Oceania Geosciences Society (AOGS)

Fig. 1 | Geoscience Letters

Fig. 1

From: GPS-based slip models of one Mw 7.2 and twenty moderate earthquakes along the Sumatran plate boundary

Fig. 1

Map of all the events modeled in this study. Rectangular colored patches or short lines show the final slip models for one Mw 7.2 event and 20 moderate (5.9 ≤ Mw < 7) events obtained from this study. Focal mechanisms are placed at the gCMT centroid locations (Dziewonski et al. 1981; Ekström et al. 2012). Yellow stars indicate the Advanced National Seismic System (ANSS) epicenters (NCEDC 2016). Solid colored lines outline published 1-m slip contours for the 2004 Mw 9.2 Sumatra–Andaman earthquake (Chlieh et al. 2007), the 2005 Mw 8.6 Nias–Simeulue earthquake (Konca et al. 2007), the 2007 Mw 8.4 Bengkulu earthquake and its two Mw 7.9 and 7.0 aftershocks (Tsang et al. 2016), the 2008 Mw 7.2 North Pagai earthquake (Salman et al. 2017), the 2010 Mw 7.8 Mentawai earthquake (Hill et al. 2012), the 2002 Mw 7.3 and 2008 Mw 7.4 Simeulue sibling earthquakes (Morgan et al. 2017), and the 2010 Mw 7.8 Banyaks Island earthquake (Morgan et al. 2015). Red circles are the SuGAr stations (Feng et al. 2015). Black dashed boxes delineate the inferred subducted fracture zones underneath Simeulue (Franke et al. 2008) and the Batu Islands (Pesicek et al. 2010) based on seismicity. Brown lines are slab contours at 20 km, 40 km, and 60 km intervals from Slab1.0 (Hayes et al. 2012)

Back to article page